Originally founded as the royal library in 1776 in the rear garden of Changdeokgung Palace by King Jeongjo, Kyujanggak has not only survived the tumult of court intrigue, invasion and colonial rule, but has continued to expand. The Kyujanggak collections now contain over 260,000 items, such as The Annals of the Joseon Dynasty (Joseon Wangjo Silok) and the Diary of the Office of Royal Secretaries (Seungjeongwon Ilgi), both designated UNESCO World Documentary Heritages. Kyujanggak houses the Kyujanggak Institute for Korean Studies, a leading center of research, publication, and international, interdisciplinary coordination in the field of Korean Studies.
SNU, the Office of International Affairs
CJ International Centre (Bldg. 152)
1 Gwanak-ro, Gwanak-gu, Seoul
08826, Republic of Korea